DC will host Premier Rugby Sevens 2023 Championship Tournament, tickets available now

Premier Rugby Sevens (PR7s), the U.S.-based professional rugby sevens competition, has announced Washington, D.C. will host the 2023 PR7s Championship on Sunday, Aug. 6. Audi Field will welcome some of the top global female and male stars who will compete to win American rugby’s biggest sevens prizes in front of a nationally televised audience.

The season-long competition will build towards the 2023 PR7s Championship in D.C., where one franchise will take home the PR7s United Championship – an unprecedented prize that combines collective performances of the men’s and women’s teams. The last men’s team standing will take home the A. Jon Prusmack Cup and the women’s prize is the Kathy Flores Cup, honoring two major pioneers in American rugby.

“After a fantastic 2022 event, we are thrilled to return to Audi Field and bring our biggest, culminating event for the 2023 Championships to Washington D.C.,” said Owen Scannell, Founder and CEO of Premier Rugby Sevens. “D.C. has long been a great market for rugby, and we intend to bring the speed, action, and festival atmosphere that the sport is famous for to the passionate sports fans of the District this summer.”

“As the official convention and sports authority for the District of Columbia, Events DC is delighted to again partner with Premier Rugby Sevens to bring professional rugby to the District of Columbia,” said Angie M. Gates, president and CEO of Events DC. “With over 200 active club teams and millions of self-identified followers throughout our region, DC remains one of the top rugby markets in the nation. We look forward to hosting this exciting rugby championship in our city again this year as we continue to attract high-quality professional rugby to our nation’s capital including the Rugby World Cup.”

Leading up to D.C., eight franchises, each consisting of a men’s team and a women’s team, will earn points across four tournaments.

The top two men’s and women’s teams from each conference below will qualify for the D.C. event:

Eastern Conference

  • Texas Team
  • New York Locals
  • Southern Headliners
  • Pittsburgh Steeltoes 

Western Conference

  • Northern Loonies
  • SoCal Loggerheads
  • Rocky Mountain Experts
  • Golden State Retrievers

As the first league of its kind with men’s and women’s teams competing under one umbrella with equal pay, each PR7s event boasts a party-like atmosphere with bands, DJs, games, contests, partner integration, and special appearances. Tickets for each event are now available at PRSevens.com/tickets.

The full 2023 schedule includes:

Saturday, June 17 – Eastern Conference Kickoff – Austin at Q2 Stadium

Saturday, June 24 – Western Conference Kickoff – Minneapolis at TCO Stadium

Saturday, July 15 – Western Conference Final – San Jose at PayPal Park

Sunday, July 23 – Eastern Conference Final – Pittsburgh at Highmark Stadium

Sunday, Aug. 6 – PR7s Championship – Washington, D.C. at Audi Field

Last year, the PR7s 2022 season included over 30 matches through tournaments at the MLS stadiums in San Jose, Washington, D.C., and Austin. The Southern Headliners took home the first United Championship, led by Team USA Olympic co-captain Abby Gustaitis for the Headliners women and U.S. national team player Adam Channel on the men’s side. The Headliners also won the Kathy Flores Cup for women’s top prize, while the SoCal Loggerheads earned the A. Jon Prusmack Cup as the men’s champion, led by U.S. Olympians Martin Iosefo and Matai Leuta.

Troy Petenbrink

Troy, also known as The Gay Traveler, is a well known travel and food writer. His has been a regular contributor to a variety of outlets including National Geographic, Travel Channel, DCRefined, CBS Local, and Metro Weekly. He also appears on local Washington news outlets as a travel expert.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.